UK bank holidays in 2020: What are the dates for the May, Easter and August public holidays next year?

UK bank holidays in 2020: What are the dates for the May, Easter and August public holidays next year?

Now winter's nearly here, our thoughts may naturally start to turn to bank holiday plans for next year.

After all, with the weather getting colder we all start thinking about those four-day weekends spent in the sun.

Some extra time-off every few months does wonders to recharge the batteries, and looking around this early means you could pick up some great holiday bargains.

Most popular bank holiday destinations from London - in pictures



So if you're thinking of time-off next year, here are all the bank holiday dates in the UK in 2020. 

It's worth noting that next year's early May Day holiday will be pushed back by four days to coincide with the 75th anniversary of VE Day.

The best beach clubs in Europe - in pictures



How many bank holidays do we get a year?

We have a total of eight bank holidays throughout the year in England and Wales, while there are nine in Scotland and 10 in Northern Ireland.

What is a bank holiday?


How many bank holidays have we got left in 2019?

National holidays in the UK have been referred to as “bank” holidays since the late 19th century, because traditionally, on these days, banks would close their doors for trading.

Nowadays most of the working population will be granted the day off and many banks and government offices remain closed. A number of shops still operate as usual on bank holidays, albeit often with reduced trading hours.

2020 bank and public holidays in the UK

  • New Year's Day: Wednesday January 1
  • 2nd January: Thursday January 2 (Scotland only)
  • St Patrick's Day: Tuesday March 17 (Northern Ireland only)
  • Good Friday: Friday April 10
  • Easter Monday: Monday April 13
  • Early May bank holiday: Friday May 8
  • Spring bank holiday: Monday May 25
  • Summer bank holiday: August 3 (Scotland only)
  • Battle of the Boyne: Monday July 13 (Northern Ireland only)
  • Summer Bank Holiday: Monday 5 August (Scotland only)
  • Summer Bank Holiday: Monday August 31 (England, Wales and Northern Ireland only)
  • St Andrew's Day: Monday November 30
  • St Andrew’s Day: Monday 2 December (Scotland only)
  • Christmas Day: Friday December 25
  • Boxing Day: Monday December 28

Other days to remember

  • Mother's Day: Sunday March 22
  • Father's Day: Sunday June 21
  • Halloween: Sunday October 31
  • Bonfire Night: Thursday November 5

More about: | Bank Holiday | Bank Holidays | Bank Holiday Weekend

Loading...