MTV Announces ‘The Challenge 40: Battle Of The Eras’ With 40 Fan-Favorite Challengers For Milestone Season

MTV Announces ‘The Challenge 40: Battle Of The Eras’ With 40 Fan-Favorite Challengers For Milestone Season

More than 25 years later, some of the biggest names in The Challenge history are going for gold once again to celebrate a major milestone for TV’s longest running reality competition series.

Marking the show’s 40th season, MTV announced the cast of The Challenge 40: Battle of the Eras on Monday, featuring 40 legendary fan-favorite Challengers who will compete for their share of $1 million when the season premieres Wednesday, August 14.

The Challenge‘s largest cast yet includes Kaycee Clark, Tori Deal, Johnny “Bananas” Devenanzio, Aneesa Ferreira, Brad Fiorenza, Leroy Garrett, Mark Long, Rachel Robinson, Cara Maria Sorbello, Laurel Stucky, CT Tamburello, Darrell Taylor, Devin Walker, Jenny West, Cory Wharton, Jordan Wiseley and more.

Related Stories

This season, “the path to glory is far from easy, as they must first compete at the Era Invitational and eliminate the weakest links from within their own Challenge Era for only the best will earn a coveted spot on their team. With relentless, new challenges and twists, these seasoned Veterans are perpetually kept on their toes in the game they thought they had mastered,” according to a synopsis from MTV.

Representing Era 1 (seasons 1-10) will be Tina Barta (8 Challenges), Katie Cooley (11 Challenges, 1 win), Aneesa Fereira (17 Challenges), Brad Fiorenza (13 Challenges, 1 Win), Derrick Kosinski (13 Challenges, 3 Wins), Mark Long (8 Challenges, 2 Wins), Rachel Robinson (8 Challenges, 2 Wins), CT Tamburello (19 Challenges, 5 Wins), Darrell Taylor (14 Challenges, 4 Wins) and Jodi Weatherton (5 Challenges, 2 Wins).

Era 2 (Seasons 11-20) includes Derek Chavez (5 Challenges), Nehemiah Clark (7 Challenges, 1 win), Johnny “Bananas” Devenanzio (23 Challenges, 7 Wins), KellyAnne Judd (7 Challenges), Ryan Kehoe (7 Challenges), Aviv Melmed (1 Challenges, 1 Win), Brandon Nelson (6 Challenges), Emily Schromm (3 Challenges, 1 Win), Cara Maria Sorbello (15 Challenges, 2 Wins) and Laurel Stucky (8 Challenges, 2 Wins).

The Challengers representing Era 3 (Seasons 21-30) include Tori Deal (9 Challenges, 1 Win), Amanda Garcia (7 Challenges), Leroy Garrett (13 Challenges), Jonna Mannion (10 Challenges, 2 Wins), Nia Moore (4 Challenges), Tony Raines (7 Challenges), Averey Tressler (3 Challenges), Devin Walker (7 Challenges, 1 Win), Cory Wharton (10 Challenges) and Jordan Wiseley (9 Challenges, 4 Wins).

Era 4 (Seasons 31-39) will feature Paulie Calafiore  (4 Challenges), Theo Campbell (3 Challenges), Kaycee Clark (5 Challenges, 1 Win), Michele Fitzgerald (4 Challenges), Horacio Gutiérrez Jr. (2 Challenges), Olivia Kaiser (2 Challenges), Josh Martinez (6 Challenges), Nurys Mateo (2 Challenges), Jenny West (2 Challenges, 1 win) and Kyland Young (2 Challenges).

MTV will grace fans with a sneak peek in The Challenge 40: Battle for of the Eras: Countdown Begins, airing Wednesday, August 7 at 8pm ET/PT. They can also follow along with MTV’s Official Challenge Podcast, new episodes dropping every Thursday. Previous seasons of The Challenge are available to stream on Paramount+, MTV VOD, and The Challenge channel on Pluto TV.

The Challenge premiered in 1998 as Road Rules: All Stars (and later Real World/Road Rules Challege), a spin-off born from the playful rivalry between the casts of The Real World and Road Rules.